School of the Wisdom (SOW)

SOW Sessions

The SOW is meant for members of the Theosophical Society to deepen their understanding in theosophy, making it a living force in daily life.

Event Date(s) Address Event Conductor Summary
To keep on Being
April 1, 2022 - 17:00 to June 24, 2022 - 18:00
ONLINE
Ven. Olande Ananda Thera

To keep on Being
Facilitator: Venerable Olande Ananda

Duration: Three months - April, May, June 2022 – One hour each Friday.

Time: 5 PM IST, 11:30 am GMT, check your local time (scroll down in that link to find your city)

This course will give a theoretical and practical introduction to meditation, by mainly focusing on mindfulness, loving kindness and compassion. There will be enough space for questions and discussions.

See time and more...

Meditación: El Por Qué y el Cómo Según Distintas Tradiciones
April 2, 2022 - 11:00 to June 25, 2022 - 12:00
ONLINE
Mrs Juliana Cesano

Meditación: El Por Qué y el Cómo Según Distintas Tradiciones
Facilitadora: Juliana Cesano

Duración: Tres meses - Abril, Mayo & Junio 2022 – Una hora cada sábado
Hora: 11 AM a 12 PM CDT, 4 PM a 5 PM GMT, compruebe su hora local (desplácese hacia abajo en ese enlace para encontrar su ciudad)

Ver más...

An Introduction to the Ageless Wisdom
July 5, 2022 - 23:30 to July 29, 2022 - 23:30
Online
Vicente Hao Chin Jr

An Introduction to the Ageless Wisdom
Facilitator: Vicente Hao Chin Jr

Dates: July, 5, 8, 12, 15, 19, 22, 26, 29 (Every Tuesday and Friday)

Time 9:00 AM GMT, 5 PM Manila, 10 AM UK, 11 AM Netherlands, 12 noon Finland/Kenya, 2:30 PM IST (India), 4 PM Indonesia, 5-7 PM Australia, 9:00 PM New Zealand

check your local time (scroll down in that link to find your city)

See time and more...

The Fundamentals of Advaita Vedanta / A Lead-in to Vedanta Cycle I
August 28, 2022 - 19:00 to September 18, 2022 - 19:00
Online
Dr Radha Raghunathan

The Fundamentals of Advaita Vendanta / A Lead-in to Vedanta Cycle I
Facilitator: Dr Radha Raghunathan

Duration: August 28 to September 18

at 7 PM IST (India Time) on Sundays - check your local time (scroll down in that link to find your city)

See time and more...

The Fundamentals of Advaita Vendanta / Tattva-bodha Cycle II
September 25, 2022 - 19:00 to December 11, 2022 - 19:00
Online
Dr Radha Raghunathan

The Fundamentals of Advaita Vendanta / Tattva-bodha Cycle II
Facilitator: Dr Radha Raghunathan

Duration: September 25 to December 11: at 7 PM IST (India Time) on Sundays
check your local time (scroll down in that link to find your city)
 
A pre-requisite is to have participated in part I - or watched the videos and study the material we will provide for part I.

See time and more...

La sabiduría del bosque: una introducción a las Upaniṣads
October 1, 2022 - 22:30 to October 16, 2022 - 22:30
Online
Prof. Óscar Figueroa

La sabiduría del bosque: una introducción a las Upaniṣads
Facilitador: Prof. Óscar Figueroa

Horario: los sábados y domingos 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 y 16 de octubre
2 PM Mexico, 4 PM Argentina,  7 PM GMT, 9 PM Spain - ver la hora en su localidad

Ver más...

From intellectual understanding to life practice: Foundations of the Buddha’s teaching in the light of Theosophy
October 12, 2022 - 14:00 to October 28, 2022 - 14:00
Online
Ms Tran-Thi-Kim-Dieu

From intellectual understanding to life practice: Foundations of the Buddha’s teaching in the light of Theosophy

Facilitator: Trân-Thi-Kim-Diêu

Dates: October 12 - 28, every Wednesday and Friday

Time: at 4 PM Paris, 2:00 PM GMT, 7:30 PM IST (India Time)

check your local time (scroll down in that link)
 
The Necessary Journey of Self-transformation
January 9, 2023 - 08:30 to January 20, 2023 - 16:00
Blavatsky Bungalow Chennai
Dr Ravi Ravindra

The Necessary Journey of Self-transformation

A Two-week Exploration in January 9 - 20, 2023 at Adyar

Venue: Theosophical Society at Adyar

See time and more...

In 2021-2022 the sessions will be online. Instructions are given when applying.
En 2021-2022 las sesiones serán en línea. las instrucciones serán dadas al momento de la aplicación.

GENERAL INFO / INFORMACIÓN GENERAL

 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

ABOUT THE SCHOOL OF THE WISDOM

 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

The School of the Wisdom aims at bringing each student to survey life ‘from the centre’, which is intuitive awareness. There can be no Wisdom without an ever-increasing sense of Wonder. Essential in the progress towards Wisdom is a growing intimacy with all aspects of Nature.

The SOW was inaugurated in 1949 by C. Jinarajadasa, the fourth International President of the TS, to revive the 1922 Adyar School initiated by Annie Besant. This school was named Brahmavidyā Āśrama, which has almost the same meaning as the School of the Wisdom.

APPLYING TO THE SCHOOL

The SOW is meant for members of the Theosophical Society to deepen their understanding in theosophy, making it a living force in daily life. Students may apply for all or some of the School of the Wisdom sessions in one form and are expected to attend all the classes in the session chosen.

1. Please, before applying click here to download and read the Online Class Decorum.

2. Fill in the Application Form which you find for each Session's page

READING

For students joining any SOW programme, we recommend reading the following:

01 - The School of the Wisdom by Jinarajadasa and Radha Burnier (PDF)
02 - An Unending Path by Tim Boyd (PDF)
03 - Freedom of Thought and Freedom of Society (PDF)
04 - Freedom of Thought: Is it Essential? by Linda Oliveira (PDF)
05 - Why Freedom of Thought? by Pedro Oliveira (PDF)
06 - What is Truth? by H. P. Blavatsky (PDF)

 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

SOBRE LA ESCUELA DE LA SABIDURÍA

 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

La Escuela de la Sabiduría tiene como objetivo llevar a cada estudiante a examinar la vida "desde el centro", que es la conciencia intuitiva.  No puede haber Sabiduría sin un creciente sentido de Maravilla. Esencial en el progreso hacia la Sabiduría, es una creciente intimidad con todos los aspectos de la Naturaleza.

La SOW fue inaugurada en 1949 por C. Jinarajadasa, el cuarto presidente internacional de la ST, para revivir la Escuela Adyar de 1926 iniciada por Annie Besant. Esta escuela se llamó Brahmavidyā Āśrama, que tiene casi el mismo significado que la Escuela de la Sabiduría.

APLICACIÓN A LA ESCUELA

La SOW está pensada para que los miembros de la Sociedad Teosófica profundicen su comprensión de la teosofía, de modo que la conviertan en una fuerza viva en la vida diaria. Los estudiantes pueden aplicar para todas o algunas de las sesiones de la Escuela de la Sabiduría en un solo formulario y se espera que asistan a todas las clases en la sesión elegida.

1. Por favor, antes de postularse, haga clic aquí para descargar y leer las directrices de las clases en línea.

2. Complete el formulario de solicitud que encontrará en la página de cada sesión

LECTURAS

Para los estudiantes que se unen a cualquier programa de la SOW, recomendamos leer lo siguiente:

01a - La Escuela de la Sabiduría Jinarajadasa 1949 (PDF)
01b - La Escuela de la Sabiduría Jinarajadasa 1950 (PDF)
01c - La Escuela de la Sabiduría Radha Burnier (PDF)
02 - Un Sendero sin final por Tim-Boyd (PDF)
03 - Libertad de Pensamiento & Libertad  de la Sociedad Teosófica (PDF)
04 - Libertad de Pensamiento por Linda Oliveira (PDF)
05 - Qué es la Verdad por H. P. Blavatsky (PDF)