THE SCHOOL OF THE WISDOM (Online)

Event Start Date: 
Nov 17 2020 - 09:00 to Nov 26 2020 - 16:00
Event Category: 
School of the Wisdom

Event Theme

FOUR STAGES OF MINDFULNESS: A secure path to the alleviation of suffering
Delivery: 
Online

The School of the Wisdom takes place online for 3 days a week. Each 2-hour session will include a small break if required.

The classes are hosted by the TS Adyar, but the hours are according to the local time of the Director in Boston.

Dates are on November 2020 as in Boston:
Tuesday 17, Wednesday 18, Thuursday 19,
Tuesday 24, Wednesday 25, Thursday 26

Time: Boston time will be from 9:00 pm to 11:00 pm (two-hour class each day)

Time around the world - each class will start at:

9 pm in Boston, New York, Atlanta, Miami

8 pm Chicago, Dallas, Houston

7 pm Denver

6 pm Los Angeles, San Francisco, Seattle

10 pm Buenos Aires, Brasilia, Santiago

changing to the next day in the following cities

2 am London

3 am Rome, Paris, Barcelona, Amsterdam

5 am Nairobi, Moscow

7:30 am Chennai

10 am Manila, Singapore

12 noon Sydney

2 pm Auckland

DESCRIPTION

The goal of this two-week program is to provide participants the knowledge and skills necessary to apply mindfulness meditation principles and practices in their own lives and in the live of those around them.

Each class will last two hours and if necessary there will be a brief break at half time.

The classes will start with introductions and welcoming of students. Then the Director will highlight the topic for that day, followed by the recitation of the traditional mantra from the Upanishads and a short meditation.

Aftr this the group will move into study, to explore the role of suffering in human life, the meaning of being human and the implications of responsibilities.

Recommended reading:

The books that will be used as foundation for this course and that every student should have and if possible read in advance are:

“The Voice of the Silence” by H.P. Blavatsky

“The Creative Silence” by Rohit Mehta

“Mindfulness for Beginners” by Jon Kabat-Zinn

This last book includes a mp3cd with mindfulness meditation practices that will be used during the two weeks of the program to practice at home.

Other suggested readings are:

“Mindfulness in Plain English” by Venerable Henepola Gunaratana

“Krishnamurti and The Experience of the Silent Mind” by A.D. Dhopeshwarkar

 

Fernando A. de Torrijos is former director of Mindfulness Programs in Psychiatry and Senior Teacher at the Center for Mindfulness, University of Massachusetts Medical School. From 1995 to 2003 he worked at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center, Division of Preventive and Behavioral Medicine, as clinic director and mindfulness-based stress reduction cross-cultural specialist serving the more vulnerable population of central Massachusetts. Since 2000 he has conducted Mindfulness-Based Intervention (MBI) trainings for health professional and educators in 14 different countries. He joined the Theosophical Society in 1977. He has been a life-long student and teacher of the sacred and contemplative traditions of humanity.

 

Donation

If you wish to donate to the SOW, use the DONATE-button

 

Cost: 
Free. Happy for donations.
Event Status: 
Confirmed
What is provided: 
The number of participants is limited.

GENERAL INFO / INFORMACIÓN GENERAL

 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

ABOUT THE SCHOOL OF THE WISDOM

 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

The School of the Wisdom aims at bringing each student to survey life ‘from the centre’, which is intuitive awareness. There can be no Wisdom without an ever-increasing sense of Wonder. Essential in the progress towards Wisdom is a growing intimacy with all aspects of Nature.

The SOW was inaugurated in 1949 by C. Jinarajadasa, the fourth International President of the TS, to revive the 1922 Adyar School initiated by Annie Besant. This school was named Brahmavidyā Āśrama, which has almost the same meaning as the School of the Wisdom.

TIMINGS (may vary according to the course)

ONLINE classes
Weekly: Monday, Wednesday and Friday
Classes: 2 hours per day

APPLYING TO THE SCHOOL

The SOW is meant for members of the Theosophical Society to deepen their understanding in theosophy, making it a living force in daily life. Students may apply for all or some of the School of the Wisdom sessions in one form and are expected to attend all the classes in the session chosen.

1. Please, before applying click here to download and read the Online Class Decorum.

2. Fill in the Application Form

READING

For students joining any SOW programme, we recommend reading the following:

01 - The School of the Wisdom by Jinarajadasa and Radha Burnier (PDF)
02 - An Unending Path by Tim Boyd (PDF)
03 - Freedom of Thought and Freedom of Society (PDF)
04 - Freedom of Thought: Is it Essential? by Linda Oliveira (PDF)
05 - Why Freedom of Thought? by Pedro Oliveira (PDF)
[[06 - What is Truth? by H. P. Blavatsky (PDF)]]

 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

SOBRE LA ESCUELA DE LA SABIDURÍA

 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

La Escuela de la Sabiduría tiene como objetivo llevar a cada estudiante a examinar la vida "desde el centro", que es la conciencia intuitiva.  No puede haber Sabiduría sin un creciente sentido de Maravilla. Esencial en el progreso hacia la Sabiduría, es una creciente intimidad con todos los aspectos de la Naturaleza.

La SOW fue inaugurada en 1949 por C. Jinarajadasa, el cuarto presidente internacional de la ST, para revivir la Escuela Adyar de 1926 iniciada por Annie Besant. Esta escuela se llamó Brahmavidyā Āśrama, que tiene casi el mismo significado que la Escuela de la Sabiduría.

HORARIOS (pueden variar según el curso)

Clases en línea
Semanal: lunes, miércoles y viernes
Clases: 2 horas diarias

APLICACIÓN A LA ESCUELA

La SOW está pensada para que los miembros de la Sociedad Teosófica profundicen su comprensión de la teosofía, de modo que la conviertan en una fuerza viva en la vida diaria. Los estudiantes pueden aplicar para todas o algunas de las sesiones de la Escuela de la Sabiduría en un solo formulario y se espera que asistan a todas las clases en la sesión elegida.

1. Por favor, antes de postularse, haga clic aquí para descargar y leer las directrices de las clases en línea.

2. Complete el formulario de solicitud

LECTURAS

Para los estudiantes que se unen a cualquier programa de la SOW, recomendamos leer lo siguiente:

01a - La Escuela de la Sabiduría Jinarajadasa 1949 (PDF)
01b - La Escuela de la Sabiduría Jinarajadasa 1950 (PDF)
01c - La Escuela de la Sabiduría Radha Burnier (PDF)
02 - Un Sendero sin final por Tim-Boyd (PDF)
03 - Libertad de Pensamiento & Libertad  de la Sociedad Teosófica (PDF)
04 - Libertad de Pensamiento por Linda Oliveira (PDF)
[[05 - Qué es la Verdad por H. P. Blavatsky (PDF)]]